You're looking at an older portion our site, which is no longer actively maintained. If it seems out of date, you may want to try Resources section on our new site, which has more up-to-date information about the information resources available through the library. Thanks for bearing with us through this transition.
Electronic DatabasesAccess the following databases for free with a Galion Public Library Card. Finding answers to your questions has never been so easy. If you have difficulty accessing the databases or questions, please contact the library staff at 419-468-3203.
Databases, except Gale's Contemporary Authors and Reference USA, are provided by OPLIN (The Ohio Public Library Information Network).
-
EbscoHost provides full text from nearly 1,800 general reference, business, consumer health, general science and multicultural periodicals. Full text backfiles go as far back as January 1990.
Electric Library is a fulltext database of 800+ newspapers and magazines such as USA Today and Consumer Digest. Over 18 reference books such the World Almanac and Book of Facts, are included, along with pictures, maps, television and readio transcripts.
Ohio News Bank is a database of news articles covering social, political, economic, environmental, and health events and issues of local and statewide importance to the people of Ohio. Articles are selected from more than 70 daily and weekly Ohio newspapers including the Galion Inquirer.
SIRS Discoverer, an informative database of full-text articles, helps develop research, reading, writing, language and computer skills while making learning fun and intutive for the young researcher.
-
Reference USA provides detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses and 102 million U.S. residents. The database is searchable by name, location, business size, phone, and yellow page headings. (Access at home)
-
Art and Architecture Database
Access Science includes full text access to science encyclopedias and articles.
Auto Repair Reference Center
Encyclopedia Britannica includes all of the text of the print set, plus thousands of additional articles, digital images and Internet links related to the articles.
Enciclopedia Universal en Espaņol
Oxford Reference Online
-
Gale's Contemporary Authors - find complete biographies for over 90,000 authors around the world, includes authors of fiction, poetry, non-fiction and more. (Access at home)
Literature Online
Net Library - Access any of the 2800 eBook titles in the OPLIN collection at netLibrary. eBooks are full-text electronic versions of published books that library patrons can search, borrow, read, and return over the Internet. (Access at home)
NoveList - allows readers of all ages to use a favorite author or title to discover new books to read.
-
Annals of American History Online
Biographies Plus Illustrated - This database from H.W. Wilson is a collection of biographical articles from a variety of sources. It is accessed via the WilsonWeb interface, and users must click the box next to the database name before searching.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, a searchable interface for locating historical Maps of Ohio towns and cities. These maps were digitized from microfilm copies by Chadwyck-Healey, a Bell & Howell Information and Learning company. The searchable database is a joint project of OPLIN and OhioLINK.(Access at home)
